Call today for a Free Consultation! 1.800.208.3538 Available 24 Hours

Texting and Driving Victims Lawyer

Five seconds is the average time your attention is off the road ahead while texting. At 55mph, five seconds is enough time to travel the entire length of a football field. It is hard to overstate the dangers on California roadways due to texting and driving. Dividing your attention while driving to look at a text involves visual, motor and crucial cognitive tasks that divert vital awareness from cognitive flexibility for maintaining speed, positioning and response time on the road. Texting distractions drastically outweigh other driver diversions like adjusting the radio, holding a conversation with a passenger and even talking on a cell phone. The time it takes to look at a text is like driving blindfolded, and can result in a fatal or serious car accident.

If a negligent driver who was distracted by texting, social media or other cell phone applications has injured you or someone you love, you don’t have to face the coming medical issues and legal proceedings on your own. You need proper legal representation from an experienced attorney with extensive knowledge of texting accidents, cell phone accidents and distracted driver collision cases. The advocates at Johnson Attorneys Group are here to be your texting and driving accident lawyers. We have won thousands of cases in California and have the resources to help you win or successfully settle your negligent distracted driver case. Contact us at 1-800-208-3538 today to schedule your free case review.

Texting and Driving Victims Lawyer - Texting While Driving Accident in California - Johnson Attorneys Group

California Distracted Driver Campaign

Cell phone laws enacted in California prohibit cell phone use and electronic wireless device use for all drivers except valid emergency or work-related purposes. Drivers under the age of 18 cannot use any electronic wireless device including cell phones, Bluetooth, speakerphone, and hand-held or hands-free devices at all. To educate and inform people about the dangers of distracted driving the  California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) created several PSAs to help spread the message and ‘silence the distractions‘. A movement called It Can Wait is an online pledge that millions have taken to never drive distracted again. The website offers social interaction, free advocate documents, an interactive 360 Experience simulation and a downloadable app to help minimize driving distractions.

The Wireless Communications Device Law

(h3) California has enacted both primary and secondary laws prohibiting both hand-held electronic devices for all drivers and banning all drivers from the act of texting while driving. Additionally, drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using any wireless or hands-free devices while operating a motor vehicle. Listed below are the California

Vehicle Code (VC) laws regarding texting while driving:

  • VC §23123 (primary law) was enacted in 2008; this law prohibits all motorists from using handheld wireless devices.
  • VC §23123.5 (secondary law) took effect in 2009 specifically banning all drivers from texting while operating a motor vehicle.
  • VC §23124 was adopted to make the use of any wireless electronic device by a driver, 18 or under, illegal in any instance.

Exceptions:

    • Hands-free usage – Drivers 18 years of age or older may use a hands-free device.
    • Bluetooth earpiece – It is legal to use a Bluetooth device, but it is illegal to have both ears covered.
    • Speakerphone function – you can talk on your cellphone using the speaker function as long as you are not holding the phone.
    • Emergency use – These laws allow a driver of any age to use a cellphone during an emergency to make calls to 911, law enforcement, the fire department, a medical provider or other emergency services.
    • Emergency vehicle drivers – Those operating emergency vehicles are exempt during the course of employment.

Take Action, Get Legal Help from Our California Car Accident Lawyer Today

Johnson Attorneys Group encourages you to take action if you or someone you care about was involved in an accident caused by texting and driving or other dangerous distracted driving. Get the legal help you deserve, call us today at 1-800-208-3538. We offer a free case review to determine the maximum compensation you are owed for expenses incurred because of your auto accident. We have the resources to help you successfully settle or win your case. Learn more about clients we’ve helped by viewing our case results.

Download PDF

Are You Injured

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Every personal injury case is unique and many factors are used to value each case. The losses from your claim include the amount of the medical bills, lost wages, pain, and suffering, etc. The most important factor is your life change resulting from the injury. Typically, the larger the injury and life change, the larger the settlement. We discuss your personal injury claim’s worth during your free consultation. Call for a free consultation 800-208-3538, or complete the form below >
The first thing you should do is contact an attorney. Without the representation of a lawyer, insurance companies might make contact with you directly, and since they are trained to protect their best interests, this could mean a loss of rights on your behalf, especially if you unknowingly sign something that they didn't completely explain to you. Call for a free consultation 800-208-3538, or complete the form below >
The length of a personal injury case depends on many factors including the evaluation and treatment of the injury. The bigger the injury, the longer it takes to treat. Attorney James Johnson helps you be aggressive with the treatment, so the average case normally takes between two and five months. Those who have serious injuries and need surgery may take several months longer. Call for a free consultation 800-208-3538, or complete the form below >
Many victims believe if you don't have health insurance you don't have a case - this NOT true. In fact, those with health insurance usually don't use it since there are so many restrictions and steps to overcome to receive authorization for treatment. Johnson Attorneys Group assists you in finding the best doctors to help. Most of them even wait until a settlement for payment. Call for a free consultation 800-208-3538, or complete the form below >
Handling a personal injury claim by yourself is very difficult. You will deal directly with the insurance adjuster who is often trained to obtain the information they are not entitled to use. This information can negatively impact and de-value your case. Once your case is damaged, it is very difficult to repair it and usually costs you thousands of dollars less in a settlement. Call for a free consultation 800-208-3538, or complete the form below >
You do not pay anything unless you win. We work on a contingency-fee-basis, so we’re only paid if we win your case. When the case is settled, our fee is a percentage, as previously agreed, of the final settlement. These fees are described in full detail in our signed contract before work begins on the case. We cover the case upfront costs including everything from copying and court filing fees to hiring experts - so all your focus can be on getting well. Call for a free consultation 800-208-3538, or complete the form below >

What Our Clients Say About Us

We are passionate about good service and the attorney speaks to every client. Our focus is on your medical care and overall wellness.
Here are a few of our client's testimonials:

Connect with Us

Google+ | Johnson Attorneys Group JAG-California-Locations_badge_footer

Free Consultation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

  Your information is never shared.

Copyright © 2018, Johnson Attorneys Group.   All rights reserved. | News | Disclaimer | Privacy | Sitemap | Designed by SEO Pros

James Johnson is responsible for this advertisement.